Awaiting a response…

Savannah College of Art and Design LogoA few weeks ago, I got the bright idea to apply to graduate school. I decided on Savannah College of Art and Design. Actually, I’ve been wanting to go to SCAD since my junior year of high school. I just didn’t have the guts or the funds. At this point, I have the guts, just not the funds. I took a chance and applied anyway. I came up with 17 portfolio pieces in the matter of 8 weeks. It doesn’t seem like much but when you’re consistently going through health problems and family business, it can seem like an eternity. When I turned it in, I was so ecstatic I could’ve done flips. Now two weeks later, I’m stressed to the max. Wondering if I got in or if I’m waiting for a skinny rejection letter? It feels like an edge of your seat, reality nail-biting thriller. Or maybe, I’m just making it that way. My admissions counselor said that we should know by the end of this week.

I’m just glad I didn’t receive a rejection letter on my birthday yesterday. Whoo-hoo! Another year to conquer, but an ending to shy away from. Everyone kept asking last night, how I felt about turning 30 in 4 years! I’m not going to lie. It’s freaky. I’ve got a mate  and a degree. No marriage, career or baby carriage as of yet. But things come in time.

In the meantime, I’ve been tiptoeing around the idea of joining AIGA. But it’s difficult to come up with the money to join. Avid follower.

Oh yeah, my friend and I took it upon on ourselves to start doing websites and copy writing for family and friends. As right now, we are trying to come up with a contract to create between us and one for the client. Does anyone know of any good articles or books to read about creating business contracts for graphic designers? Our first project is for a old high school buddy of mine. Then possibly two for our family members. So, things are definitely looking up. It feels nice to try to matters into my own hands.

Thanks for listening to my rambling. It’s appreciated.

Leave a Reply

